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Respondent’s Original Counter-Petition for Divorce 

Print your answers. 

My name is: ____________________________________________________________________________. 
First    Middle     Last  

I am the Respondent and Counter-Petitioner in this divorce case.  

The last three numbers of my driver’s license number are: ___   ___   ___. My driver’s license was 

issued in (State) ________________________. 

or   I do not have a driver’s license number. 

The last three numbers of my social security number are:  ___   ___   ___. 

or   I do not have a social security number. 

My spouse’s name is: __________________________________________________________________. 
                  First          Middle                  Last  

My spouse is the Petitioner and Counter-Respondent. 

1. Discovery Level 

The discovery level in this case, if needed, is: (Check one box.) 

 Level 1.  (Check here if you and your spouse have less than $50,000 in property.) 

 Level 2.  (All other couples check here.) 

2. Legal Notice 

I will deliver a copy of this document to my spouse as required by Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 21a. If 

my spouse has a lawyer, I will deliver it to my spouse’s lawyer instead of directly to my spouse. 

  

 Cause Number:   

(Print court information exactly as it appears on the Original Petition for Divorce) 

IN THE MATTER OF THE MARRIAGE OF    

Petitioner:  

In the  ______________ 
                 (Court Number) 

 
 District Court 
 County Court at Law 

 
                              County, Texas 

                      Print first, middle and last name of the spouse filing for divorce. 

And 

Respondent:  
  Print first, middle and last name of other spouse.   
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3. Jurisdiction 

3A. County Residence Requirement  

(Check all boxes that apply.) 

 I have lived in this county for the last 90 days. 

 My spouse has lived in this county for the last 90 days. 

 I am serving in the armed forces or other government service outside of Texas, but this county has been 

the home county of either my spouse or me for at least 90 days. 

 I have accompanied my spouse who is serving in the armed forces or other government service outside 

of Texas, but this county has been the home county of either my spouse or me for at least 90 days. 

3B. Texas Residence Requirement  

(Check all boxes that apply.) 

 I have lived in Texas for the last six months.  

 My spouse has lived in Texas for the last six months.  

 I am serving in the armed forces or other government service 

outside of Texas, but Texas is the home state of either my spouse or me and has been for at least 6 

months.  

 I have accompanied my spouse who is serving in the armed forces or other government service outside 

of Texas, but Texas is the home state of either my spouse or me and has been for at least 6 months.  

4. Dates of Marriage and Separation  

My spouse and I got married on or about: __________________________________________________. 
   Month            Day                             Year   

We stopped living together as spouses on or about: __________________________________________. 
Month                      Day                        Year  

5. Grounds for Divorce  

I ask the Court to grant me a divorce.  The marriage has become insupportable due to discord or conflict of 

personalities that destroys the legitimate ends of the marital relationship and prevents any reasonable 

expectation of reconciliation.   

6. No Children Together 

My spouse and I do not have any biological or adopted children together who are under 18 years old or still in 

high school.  

  

Note:  If you or your spouse 

lives outside of Texas, you 
must complete and attach the 

Exhibit: Out-of-State Party 
Declaration.   

Note:  Talk with a lawyer if you have an adult disabled child who is not capable of supporting him or herself 

because of the disability. You or your spouse could be entitled to receive child support. 
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7. Is the Wife Pregnant?  

(Check one box.) 

 The wife in this marriage is not pregnant. 

 The wife in this marriage is pregnant.  I understand that I cannot finish the divorce until after the child is 

born. (If the wife is pregnant, also check one box below.) 

  The husband is the father of this child.  I ask the court to include orders for custody, visitation, child 

support and medical support for the child in the Final Decree of Divorce. 

  The husband is not the father of this child.  I understand that paternity of the child must be 

established before I can finish the divorce.   

8. Did the Wife have a Child with Another Man While Married to the Husband?  

(Check one box.  Fill in the requested information.) 

 The wife did not have a child with another man while married to the husband. 

 The wife did have a child with another man while married to the husband.  All of the children born during 

the marriage that are not the Husband’s adopted or biological children are named below:  

Child’s name Age Date of Birth Sex 

1.     

2.     

3.     

4.     

      

     
 (If the wife had a child or children with another man during the marriage, check one box below.) 

  Paternity of the child/ren named above has not been established.  I understand that paternity of the 
child/ren must be established before I can finish my divorce.   

 Paternity of the child/ren named above has been established: (Check one box.) 

  A court order has established that another man is the biological father and/or the Husband is not 
the biological father of the child/ren listed above.  I understand I must attach a file-stamped copy 
of the court order to my Final Decree of Divorce.  

  An Acknowledgement of Paternity was signed by the biological father and a Denial of Paternity 
was signed by the Husband for the child/ren listed above.  I understand I must attach a copy of 
these documents to my Final Decree of Divorce.  

9. Waiver of Waiting Period Based on Family Violence  

(Check only if applicable.) 

 I ask the Court to waive the 60-day waiting period for divorce because: (Check one box.) 

 My spouse has been convicted of or received deferred adjudication for a crime involving family 
violence against me or a member of my household. 

 I have an active protective order or an active magistrate’s order for emergency protection against my 
spouse because of family violence during our marriage.  The order includes a finding that my spouse 
committed family violence.  
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10.  Protective Order Statement  

(Check the appropriate boxes.  Fill in the requested information, if applicable.) 

10A. No Protective Order  

  I do not have a Protective Order against my spouse and I have not asked for one.  

  My spouse does not have a Protective Order against me and has not asked for one. 

10B. Pending Protective Order  

  I have filed paperwork with a court asking for a Protective Order against my spouse, but a judge has 

not decided if I should get it.  I asked for a Protective Order on _______________________________ 
                                                                                                                                  Date Filed                     

  in ______________ County, ___________. The cause number is ____________________________. 
 County                                     State                                                                          Cause Number 

 If I get a Protective Order, I will file a copy of it before any hearings in this divorce. 

  My spouse has filed paperwork asking for a Protective Order against me, but a judge has not decided 

if my spouse will get it.  My spouse asked for a Protective Order on ___________________________  
                                        Date Filed                  

  in _______________ County, ___________. The cause number is ___________________________. 
             County                                          State                                                                          Cause Number 

 If my spouse gets a Protective Order, I will file a copy of it before any hearings in this divorce. 

10C. Protective Order in Place  

  I do have a protective order against my spouse. I got the protective order in 

____________________________ County, ______________________ on _________________. 
                               County                                                               State                           Date Ordered 

 The cause number is ________________________. Either I have attached a copy of the protective 
                                                            Cause Number  

order to this petition or I will file a copy of it with the court before any hearings in this divorce.  

  My spouse does have a protective order against me. The protective order was made in  

  _____________________________ County, _____________________ on __________________. 
                               County                                                               State                           Date Ordered 

 The cause number is ________________________. Either I have attached a copy of the protective 
                                                            Cause Number  

order to this petition or I will file a copy of it with the court before any hearings in this divorce.  

  

Note: You must provide information about any protective order or pending application for protective order 

involving you and your spouse or a child of either you or your spouse. This includes information about any: (1) 

family violence protective order, (2) sexual assault, sexual abuse, trafficking or stalking protective order and/or 

(3) emergency protective order issued after an arrest. 

You must also attach to this petition a copy of any protective order (even if it’s expired) in which one spouse or 
child of either spouse was the applicant or victim and the other spouse was the respondent or defendant. 
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11.  Property and Debt 

Note: It is very important to talk with a lawyer if you or your spouse has a house, land, business, retirement funds, 

other valuable property or debt.  Getting advice from a lawyer now can save you time and money in the long run. 

About community property: Texas is a community property state.  This means that any new property that either 

spouse gets from the minute they are married until the minute the judge grants the divorce is probably community 

property, even if the property is only in one spouse’s name.  

About separate property: Property owned by a spouse before the marriage is that spouse’s separate property. In 

addition, if either spouse receives a gift, an inheritance, or a recovery for personal injuries that occurred during the 

marriage (not including a recovery for lost wages or medical expenses); it is that spouse’s separate property. There 

are exceptions to these general rules.  If you have questions talk with a lawyer.   

About retirement: Retirement funds (such as 401k, pension, profit sharing, stock option plans and IRAs) earned 

by either spouse during the marriage are usually considered to be community property that can be divided by the 

court. This is true even if you or your spouse has not yet retired.  If you want the Court to divide retirement funds 

(other than an IRA), you will need to have the Court sign an additional form, usually called a “Qualified Domestic 

Relations Order” (QDRO), to make the division effective. You should have the QDRO prepared before you go to 

court, so the judge can sign it when you finish your divorce.  A QDRO form is not included with this divorce set.  You 

may be able to get a sample QDRO form from the employer or retirement fund administrator. If not, you should hire 

a lawyer to draft the QDRO form. If you use the employer or retirement fund administrator’s QDRO form, you 

should still have a lawyer review it to make sure you are not giving up important benefits.  Note: If you and your 

spouse plan to keep your own retirement funds or do not have retirement funds, you do not need a QDRO. 

About debt: A creditor’s right to collect a debt is not affected by a divorce decree. So, if the Court orders your 

spouse to pay a debt (such as a mortgage) that is in both of your names but your spouse doesn’t pay it, the creditor 

can still seek payment from you. Ask a lawyer how to protect yourself in this situation. 

11A. Community Property and Debt 

If my spouse and I can agree about how to divide the property and debts we got during our marriage, I ask 
the Court to approve our agreement.  If we cannot agree, I ask the Court to divide our community property 
and debts according to Texas law. 

11B. Separate Property  

I own the following separate property.  I owned this property before I was married or I received this property 
as a gift or inheritance during my marriage or I received this property as recovery for personal injuries that 
occurred during the marriage (not including any recovery for lost wages or medical expenses). I ask the Court 
to confirm this property as my separate property.  

(Fill in all lines.  If you have no property to list in a particular category, write “none.”) 

House located ________________________________________________________________________ 
Street Address    City     State   Zip 

Land located at:  ______________________________________________________________________ 
Street Address    City     State   Zip 

Cars, trucks, motorcycles or other vehicles 

Year Make Model Vehicle Identification No. [VIN]  

    

    
    

    

Other money or personal property I owned before I was married, received as a gift or inheritance during my 
marriage or property I purchased during my marriage with separate property funds:  

  



 

FM-DivA-101 Respondent’s Original Counter-Petition for Divorce [SET A] (Rev. 09-2017) Page 6 of 7 
© TexasLawHelp.org  

Note: You must fill out and sign this 
Certificate of Service. It tells the court 

that you will give a copy of this 
completed form to your spouse as 

required by the law. 

Money I received as recovery for personal injuries that occurred during the marriage that was not for lost 
wages or medical expenses:  

  

12.  Name Change 

(Check one box.)  

 I am NOT asking the Court to change my name. 

 I ask the Court to change my name back to a name I used before my marriage. I am not asking the court 
to change my name to avoid criminal prosecution or creditors. I ask that my name be changed to: 

_________________________________________________________________________________. 
                     First                                        Middle                                             Last 

13.  Request for Judgment 

I ask the Court to make the other orders I have asked for in this Counter-Petition for Divorce and any other 

orders to which I am entitled. 

 

______________________________________________  _________________________________ 
Respondent/Counter-Petitioner’s Signature Date 

 
______________________________________________ _________________________________ 
Respondent/Counter-Petitioner’s Printed Name Phone Number 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
Mailing Address City   State        Zip 

___________________________________________________       _____________________________________ 
Email Address Fax # (if available) 

 
IMPORTANT: I understand that I must notify the Court and my spouse’s lawyer (or my 
spouse if my spouse does not have a lawyer) in writing if my mailing address or email 
address changes during these divorce proceedings.  If I don’t, any notices about this case 
including the dates and times of hearings will be sent to me at the mailing address or email 
address above. 

14.  Certificate of Service to my Spouse 

I certify that a true copy of this document will be delivered to my 

spouse or my spouse’s lawyer (if my spouse has a lawyer) on 

the same day this document is filed with (turned in to) the Court 

as follows:  

If I file this document electronically, I will deliver it through the electronic file manager if possible.  If not 

possible, I will deliver it in person, by mail, by commercial delivery service, by fax, or by email.   

If I file a paper copy of this document, I will deliver it in person, by mail, by commercial delivery service, by 

fax, or by email.   

______________________________________________ _____________________________________ 

   Respondent/Counter-Petitioner’s Signature Date 
  

Note:  You cannot use this form to change your name to anything other 
than a name you used before you got married. 
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Note:  For a referral to a lawyer call your local lawyer referral service 

or the State Bar of Texas Lawyer Referral Information Service at 1-800-252-9690. 

For information about free and low-cost legal help in your county go to www.TexasLawHelp.org 

or call the Legal Aid office serving your area: 

Legal Aid of Northwest Texas 1-888-529-5277 (serves Dallas / Ft. Worth area & Northwest Texas) 

Lone Star Legal Aid 1-800-733-8394 (serves Houston area & East Texas) 

Texas Rio Grande Legal Aid 1-888-988-9996 (serves Austin / San Antonio area, El Paso area & South Texas) 

If you have been the victim of family violence, or if at any time you feel unsafe, get help by calling the: 

National Domestic Violence Hotline at 1-800-799-SAFE (7233) or 

Texas Advocacy Project Hope Line at 1-800-374-HOPE (4673) or 

Advocates for Victims of Crime (AVOICE) at 1-888-343-4414. 
 

http://www.texaslawhelp.org/

